

December 2012

kerlers nab Nove

outh bowlers Gavin Baker and Paul Kaneshiro solidified their slots for the Grand Finals of the Budweiser King and Prince of the Lanes after being crowned champions of their respective divisions.

Baker defeated Victor San Nicolas 207-167 in the King of the Lanes while Kaneshiro ousted Dioni Borja 203-167 for the Prince title. Baker took full control of the King's match from the onset as San Nicolas was unable to find his strike target and never looked back. In contrast, Borja took the early lead in the Prince division but Kaneshiro punched out from the eighth frame to pull away from Borja and claim his first ever title.

In the semi-final round San Nicolas out struck top seed Jay Leon Guerrero 210-165 while 2nd seed Baker slipped past Duane Camacho 215-206 to set up the King's finale. The Prince semi-finals saw the top two seed advance as top seed Borja out bowled Jeremiah Camacho 191+33 to 126+36 and Kaneshiro battered the pins against Melanie Cruz 199+35 to 137+44. Leon Guerrero led all competitors in the six game qualifier held earlier in the day with a 1245 total followed by Baker's 1237. Ricky Duenas' 298 last game landed him in third with a 1229 total dropping Duane Camacho to fourth with a 1219 series. Dante Godoy finished in fifth on 1192 pins followed by Victor San Nicolas 1168, Manny Tagle 1138, Timothy Nauta 1131, Howard Taylor 1118 and Benny Budano Jr. 1106.

Dioni Borja held off Paul Kaneshiro in the qualifying rounds by a margin of three pins 1325 (198 handicap) to 1322(210) in the Prince Division inclusive of handicap. Melanie Cruz popped in at third on 1268 (264) pins followed by Arnold Javier 1268 (132), Erwin Aguilar 1240 (144), Jeremiah Camacho 1238 (216), David Esplana 1219 (162), Leody Ersando 1201 (174), Michael Woodrome 1196 (162) and Rick Ada Jr.'s 1184 (162) rounded off the top ten. The Grand Finale will be held on Sunday, December



GRAND FINALS: SUNDAY, DECEMBER 23, 2012 AT 10:00 AM

23, 2012 at 10:00 a.m. at the Central Lanes Bowling Center featuring the monthly champions with the remaining slots awarded to the defending champion along with the top points achievers for the year. Camacho highlights the year end finals alongside monthly winners Ray Manibusan, Baker, Joey Miranda III, Jay Leon Guerrero, Dante Godoy, Ray San Nicolas, Keith Guerrero and Tyler Bishop. Greg Borja, Teliann San Nicolas, Ricky Duenas, JD Castro, Victor San Nicolas,

Manny Tagle and Tim Nauta qualify through the points system.

The Prince finalists include monthly winners Leody Ersando, Amber San Nicolas, Erwin Aguilar, Arlene Taitague, Paul Kaneshiro, Nick Gutierrez and Cherrylyn Catbagan while Von Cabral, Maddison Willis, Steve Esplana, Shannon Bukikosa, Hye Yeon Chang, Kennedy Robinson, Thela Arriola, David Esplana and Edward Sabedra qualify through the points system.

## Mafnas Makes Finals with November Title

G vam Senior Bowlers Federation president and tournament 6th seed Joe Mafnas made the cut of 16 finalists for the Senior Bowler of the Year by beating out 2nd seed fellow grand senior Kin Sablan 226 to 194 with handicap.

A field of 24 senior bowlers, several of who represented Guam in Kuala Lumpur last month, blistered through the 6 game qualifiers with 6 of them making the top 10. Nestor Valencia and Sablan took the first and second seed respectively.

Bracket 1 of the shootout saw 10th seed Ben Taimanglo beating out 9th seed John Crisostomo and 8th seed Rudy Palaganas. The second bracket had 6th seed Mafnas, nipping 5th seed Zaldy Ponce and 7th seed Terry Roberto. The quarterfinals ended with Mafnas upsetting 4th seed Jim Pinaula and 3rd seed Fidel Ogo stopping Taimanglo to advance.

Mafnas continued his title run with an upset victory over top seed Valencia. Sablan meantime handed Ogo his loss that led him for his title run against Mafnas.

In the finals, Mafnas took advantage with steady scoring in the opening frames plus a couple of Sablan miscues to string a set of marks to secure the coveted trophy.

The 2012 Guam Senior Bowler of the Year tournament will be held 11AM Sunday, December 2nd, at Central Lanes. The top 16 senior tournament bowlers for this championship are comprised of the returning finals champion from 2011, the winners from January to November this year, and the next bowler(s) with the highest tournament points total accumulated during the past year. The event will feature the defending 2011 champion and gold medalist in the women's single division at the October Kuala Lumpur senior tournament, Mary Pangelinan.

## Camacho lands second youth bowler title

eremiah Camacho earned his second youth bowler of the lanes monthly title as he knocked out top seed Jarwin Espiritu and third seed Dioni Borja in the step ladder format finals. There were no climatic endings to these matches as the nine-year old displayed poise and desire throughout the step ladder matches. After Borja eliminated 4th seed Noah Taimanglo 165+33 to 122+39 in the first round, he ran into a road block in the form of Camacho. Borja was unable to stop the consistency of Camacho as he settled for third place with a 131+33 to 191+63 drubbing against the younger foe.

Camacho continued his prowess on the lanes as he pulverized the top seed 177+63 to 122+72 to win the monthly crown.

Espiritu led all competitors during the four game qualifying rounds with a 832 total including handicap followed by Camacho (804), Borja (793), Taimanglo (788). Shaun Avellana (783), Jayden Flores (727), Zayne Zamora (725), Sofia Auxilian (715) and Jared Nicholas (713) rounded off the top ten.

The yearend Grand Finals will be held on Saturday, December 15, 2012 featuring the top sixteen finalists. Finalists are based on the point system which include automatic berth to monthly champions.

2012 Guam High Schools Championship Photo Highlights Doubles Event Medalists:

shit.

L-R: 3rd Place Boy's Division Southern High School Bradley Aguigui and Justin Cruz, 1st Place Girls and Boys Division Simon Sanchez High School Haezel Macaoay, David Pugay, Hevron Cenzon, Rosa Pugay, 2nd Place Boy's Division John F. Kennedy High School Yohan Park and Ed Garcia.

## **Central Lanes Bowling Center**

